FutureRack PILL Project Thread

Here is a dedicated forum thread to document my research and design journey with the FutureRack Protocol Pill project.

First of all, a little introductory information about myself: My background is in architecture, I have some experience with electronics and computer programming, and I’ve written before about how emerging technologies relate to the built environment. You can see more of my work on my website. I participated in SoP last year with the Addressable Space project.

For an introduction to my PILL project this year, here’s its RFC proposal description for reference:

“The 19” rack format, first pioneered in 1922, is a ubiquitous protocol for mounting telecom, audio/visual and IT equipment. Devices of varied shapes and sizes fit within racks which may be mounted on walls or on wheels, carried in portable cases by musicians and soldiers, and organized in rows inside our data centers.

Advertisements from a fictional manufacturer of rack adapters will aim to amuse online IT and audio engineering communities by illustrating new construction techniques to utilize the racks within unexpected settings such as kitchens, gardens and retail displays, expanding the protocol’s imagined vocabulary of configurations.”

I’ll update this thread with additional sections for information about different aspects of the project, and compile within this first post in the thread a set of links to each of those future posts.

Post links:

1. Project backstory
  2. Rack history & context
  3. Design: 2D Dimensional Analysis
  4. Content Brainstorming
  5. Catalog Development

I’ll look forward to hearing your thoughts and comments!

6 Likes

Part 1: Project Backstory

As a first step on my journey with this project this summer, I am going to share some of the story behind its gradual development as an idea.

I see the idea as having had several phases in its past gestation: